RSS Feed

Vocabulary Study Skills

77

October 13, 2013 by Mrs. Spiegelman

The results are in for the Unit 2 Vocabulary tests, and I noticed something that I want to share with you.

Results

The class average for 7th grade on both exams was a 92%.

For 6th grade, the class average for Unit 1 was 84%.
For Unit 2, the average was 75%.

Reflections

The 7th grade is doing better, on average. This makes sense, because the structure is something they worked with last year, and they are used to these challenging words.

The 6th grade dropped 9% points on the second exam. Since they took the exam the same way both times, I’m wondering why the average dropped.

Request

If you are successful, what are you doing to prepare for the exams? Please share in the comment section.

If you noticed your grade dropped or improved, what did you do differently when you studied?

By answering these questions, we can work together to share our strategies so that we will ALL become more successful. I’m looking forward to reading your strategies!


77 comments »

  1. Andrew says:

    I think they should study the night before and I study in the morning to refresh my memory.

    • Zion Lopez says:

      That’s a really good idea. I’ll definitely try that for the test.

    • Jesse says:

      I agree I done that and it got me a little higher. like some people would practice in the night like for and hour or two. then the next day they would practice a least ten times. thats what i do. an I have approved in my grades.

  2. Connor says:

    When you’re done with your work, try to double check it.

  3. Natalie M. says:

    I think that the sixth grade’s test scores dropped because maybe they didn’t study well enough. They could have made flashcards instead of just studying from the book. They can also consider using a keynote strategy.

  4. Jasmine C. says:

    I personally think they should be studying with friends so they can comprehend the meaning easier. (Learning with friends always seems easier for me.)

  5. Jason Matthew says:

    I think to in prove to get better tests score is you have to study in the first place. Next you can get study off of quizlet a++ pro or any other app. Another thing you can do is if you are in daycare is do your work then play games. Ones you finish your studing you can play whatever you want.

  6. Gavin says:

    I think that the sixth graders some times don’t want to make flashcards. Well, on flashcardlet you can add cards from quizlet where sadlier oxford posts the words from each chapter. That way you get all of the cards without writing them!

  7. Citlaly Q says:

    I am successful because I make fashcards on my Ipad or on paper and have either my mom or a friend test me periodically throughout the week. This helps me a lot. Every time I study for vocabulary this way I always get a 100% on the test.

  8. Jonathan Gatus says:

    I think that the 6th graders should think of what could happen if they get a bad grade. they should think,” I might get all my games taken away!” You should also drill yourself until you know everything by heart, because you aren’t just remembering this words for the test, you also need them sometime when you get older, too. When I didn’t study, I did bad on Unit 1 and got in trouble. Now when I studied for Unit 2, I got 100%! Studying helps you a lot, so you really have to study because tests are important.

  9. Kelsey E. says:

    What I do is I try and make studying fun! Because reading from the book and studying is boring. I can’t concentrate. So if I make flash cards and I try and decorate them, known as “kelseyfying” them. Or I study in some other ways. For example, me and my neighbor both have a bunch of tests, so we help each other study. My first method is we take labels and put a question or definition on our favorite type of sports ball. Then we throw the volleyball or kick the soccer ball. But, if we miss the kick or hit the volleyball (or football or basketball) wrong the person who isn’t studying gets to choose any question or definition on the ball and have the person who is studying answer it. But, if they get it wrong, you make your own little fun revenge. Like me and my neighbor both hate tomatoes. So if we get the question wrong we have to eat a tomato.

  10. Caiya says:

    My strategies for studying is that some words have smaller words in it, and I associate those parts of words with the definition. Plus it helps that I have a big vocabulary.

  11. Aliyah says:

    Well the first time I studied I just keep reading over and over again,but I got a good grade but not that good. The second time for the next test I made up dances,songs,and made symbols and I got an A on the test. That made a big difference.πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠI am so happy!πŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜ƒ

  12. Simone says:

    What I do to study is traditional and I don’t like to do that. Now that I know all these great methods I will try them out and see what works better!

  13. Osa Omozore says:

    Well most of these pretty much all of these don’t help except Kelsey’s which was very useful so thank you Kelsey I’ll try that it sounds fun.

  14. Serene Godina says:

    My method is that I will study during the week and than I will also study the day of the test to refreash my memory. I also have my parents help me study so when I think I am ready for the test my mom or my dad would say the word or defintion and I say th eanswer

  15. Lily Rivas says:

    When I study I like to associate the words into smaller words, and it like to read over the words because it helps me memorize them. I think I did worse on this test because we didn’t read the words over in class in the beginning of the unit.

  16. Karen says:

    I studied exactly the same and my grade stayed exactely the same, so if you are, or wan’t to be sucsessful study in different ways and you grade will change in defferent ways until you find the way that works for you.

  17. Christian says:

    To be honest, I really didn’t have a study strategy for Unit 2. On Unit 1, I studied everyday but I didn’t give myself a refresher so I had a 92%. ( I think…) On Unit 2, I couldn’t find my Vocabulary book, so at the last minute, I asked Mrs. Spiegelman if I could borrow her Vocab book and she said yes. (So basically, that was a refresher.) So on my Unit 2 Vocabulary Test, I got 100%!

  18. Matthew Rives says:

    To prepare for exams,I usually play a game called I made to help me study called mix-up.What you do is that you read all the words and definitions then mix them up and put them all around the room and you have to find the word that goes with the definition.When i studied i played mix-up and my mom tested me on them by glueing the words and definitions to a piece of cardboard and I had to draw a line from the word to its definition.Hope you enjoyed this comment =).

  19. Alana Gregorio says:

    To prepare for a Vocabulary test, I make up silly sentences. For example, for unit 1, I made up a sentence. “The inept oaf with a receding hairline irked me.”

    My grade stayed the same, 100%. On Unit 2, I didn’t make up any silly sentences, but I studied with a great teacher. For example, when I thought of billow, I thought of pillow, like a cloud, and when clouds come in for a storm, the act is called billowing. Example: The billowing clouds covered the sky.

  20. Nick says:

    What I do to study is highlight the most important parts especially in vocab. What I also do is, if the test is four days away, the first day I will study the first page, the second day I would study the first and second page, the third day I would study the first, second, and third page, and on the fourth day I would study all of the pages again as a refresher.

  21. Mikaila says:

    The way I study and get successful is if a definition has lots of words i cut them up into small sentences to make it easier.I didn’t do my usual study habit all I did was read each definition once.

  22. Jason B. says:

    I read the text over and over again and I sometimes make flashcards. I did not do anything different but I forgot to study.

  23. Chris.M says:

    I make flashcards on the a++ pro app it helps me a lot. I study the the flashcards every 40 mins. and ask my parents to quiz me every day so I know the words by heart. Then I make the cards on Quizlet and study it on Quizlet also then I play the games that help me know the words by heart so I can do good on a test. If I don’t do good like if I get an B+ i’ll get punished at home. I’ll get my phone taken away and my IPad’s and all my electronics and i’ll have to study for the next test without using any electronics.

  24. Roslyn says:

    What I do to prepare for the test is I first read them over and over again then I make flash cards once I am done, I wake up early the morning of the day of the test and I re study so to refresh my mind.

  25. Brian Robinson says:

    Actually i haven’t really looked at my grades yet

  26. Ava says:

    Thanks to studying, I got a higher grade than the first test! Yay! For the Unit 1 test, I just went over the vocabulary words in the book, but for the Unit 2 test, I made a Keynote presentation and showed it to the class. Doing that helped me alot.

  27. Chris.M says:

    I forgot to awnswer Question 2
    2. If my grade dropped I would have found another way to study like going over the book or making a poplet out of the words. If my grade improved I would keep on doing the same way i studied before.

  28. MacKenzie says:

    I have tried almost all of these and most of them work for me. Kelsey’s method sounds fun i think ill try it .

  29. Becca says:

    I make flash cards and study before I go to bed and in the morning. I also, study during my free time. It’s good to study 2 days before the test so you know the right stuff. Double check that you are studying the correct words. I learned that the hard way.

  30. Giselle U says:

    How I get a good grade on a test or how do I study. Well on getting a good grade on a test I will review my flashcards which I make and then I study that very well and when I do I have a friend test me and my friend will tell me which one(s) I got wrong and I review the incorrect vocabulary.

  31. Brian A says:

    I think that the 6th graders should earlier

  32. PK DeVan says:

    If you are having a problem with a vocab word and it is one of the last ones I always repeat the word to myself a couple of times then I will choose the definition that is the most logical with that word!

  33. Kaiab says:

    I sometimes use flash cards and thy usually help. I honestly love vocab and I actually enjoy studying for the tests.

  34. gabriellag6 says:

    I study out of the book or make flash cards. It’s very easy. Or you can try to make it into a game or make it into a song. Also, you can write the definitions of the words and put the right word. I didi that and it helped me a lot.

  35. Miles says:

    For studying I make flash cards and say the words twenty times aloud to myself. Also I highlight the words and say them twenty times aloud to. It really helps. I enjoy studying.

  36. Jack Forbes says:

    I think we should study every morning coming to school and every night going to bed.

  37. janisseem7 says:

    The way I study is that I go to quizlet and test myself. Also i do the old style way by making paper flashcards, and studying them in the morning of and test myself to make my mind know that understand them.

  38. giselleu7 says:

    I make flash cards and then I study them, then I ask a friend to test me. When I finished the pre test my friend tells me which one I got incorrect, and after she tells me I study the incorrect vocabulary words.

  39. clarissaf7 says:

    I am successful in taking vocab tests because I study through out the week and make flash cards on flashcardlet. I also have a family member or a friend quiz me.

  40. matthewt7 says:

    I would suggest going on the website because you can do a lot of activities there. Or if you don’t want to do that what I would do last year is studying before the test because all the stuff you read will be in your brain. And also, keynote projects help a lot. Make sure to study the whole week before the test too.

  41. jessicam7 says:

    Honestly I think that on the first day we should make flashcards, and then everyday until the test, study them! Hey, when you’re in Middle School, you don’t have as much time as you used to.

  42. jackk7 says:

    When I have a test the way I study for it is the day before and in the morning. i also make flash cards to help me remember the vocabulary. I also go over my notes and look in the text book. I also try to find something that could help me remember the word to.

  43. Jacob Rodriguez says:

    I think we did better because we are used to the difficulty of the test. Aside from that, the keynote presentations we did last year were really helpful. That was a really easy study tool that everyone could use.

  44. isabell7 says:

    I think the sixth grade should make flash cards then go over them and after they should have a friend, sibling, or parent test them on it.

  45. joeyk7 says:

    I just study really hard and also I just take little parts of studying each day and review all of them the day before the test.

  46. hankf7 says:

    I think that the whole class should make Keynotes on the words, and then present all of them.

  47. matthewv7 says:

    Next time I have a vocabulary test I’m going to study my flash cards during the week instead of just studying the day before the test

  48. justinj7 says:

    I think that you should study the day before and then study some more the next day before the test. That helps me so you wouldn’t forget what you studied. That’s what I do when I study

  49. talab7 says:

    Well why I think that is maybe because it was the first test and it wasn’t like the same old test. I think looking in a book will be a little drab. So I recommend flash cards I recommend the iPad flash cards. I’d don’t know why exactly they just make it a little more exciting

  50. presleys7 says:

    How I study in vocabulary is studying with you best friends. Also, another way I study is making it easier for example homicide. Homicide means the killing of one person by another when I think of this is homicide sounds like suicide and suicide mean killing yourself so it kind of sounds like it. So this is my way of getting 100 on vocabulary.

  51. cruzn7 says:

    What I am doing to prep for the exams is reading and studying because ten reading helps me better put the word into context

  52. natalieg7 says:

    To prepare for my vocabulary test I make Flashcards on my iPad. It really helps me because you can star the ones that they know by heart. After I make the flashcards, I have my mom test my during the week. This really helps me because by Thursday I know all the definitions by heart. In case you were wondering, I use the app Flashcardlet.

  53. jonathand7 says:

    I believe that it is best to study every day for at least 30 minutes and study at least 5 words a day.

  54. savanahs7 says:

    My studying method is flash cards, nothing special. What I try to do is match two word together that will help me and I try to match letters or rhyming words that would help ex.persuade =dissuade. This so going to make me sound like a Loner but if the unit is really hard for me I’ ll make a song.

    I did do better on unit 2 than unit 1. I think this is because I did study more and I got used to the way we were taking the test

  55. Ruby says:

    Well i FORGOT to study! I was busy ,but i could have sqeezed in time. If i were too make up my own method it woukd be to invite friends over. Then get out some candy and treats. Next tell everyone the rules which are 1. You have a limited time to answer 9(1:00) so you have to answer as fast as you can or you loose a candy 2. When you get a question or more you get 2 candies 3. The person with the least candy has to ask the questions and keep their amount of candy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to Spiegelman Scholars!

We are glad you are here! On this blog, you will find information regarding classroom happenings, projects, and student writing. It is my hope that you find this blog informative and easy to navigate. Click on the navigation to find the latest news for your class.

Proud Participants

2014 Student Blogging Challenge

Subscribe by Email

Spiegelman Scholars QRCode

Spiegelman Scholars QRCode

Scan this code using a QR Reader to be taken to a mobile friendly version of this blog.

Search for:

Categories

I’m reading…

Skip to toolbar