RSS Feed

Be More Awesome!

25

September 16, 2013 by Mrs. Spiegelman

Written by Jan Smith at http://huzzah.edublogs.org

I will confess, I have often felt the word “awesome” is over-used. I had an awesome weekend. My bike is awesome. It would be awesome if I could borrow your pencil. Are those things truly awesome? If we say they are when other words are more accurate, does the word awesome loose its meaning and power?

Then this summer I traveled to a beautiful part of our country called Haida Gwaii. While on our journey aboard the 52 ft sailboat Sölskin we kept a journal called Our Book of Awesome fashioned after Neil Pasricha’s  The Book of Awesome in which he zooms in on those specific gems in the day that he calls simple, universal little joys .

Each day at dinner we would talk and then write about the special moments in the day that stood out for us. One day I wrote that it was awesome that I didn’t get seasick; on another I marveled at the beauty of the bald eagle I saw. Capturing with my camera its translucent eyelid as it blinked was awesome indeed. Then there was that time I was able to stand on my tippy toes and reach the perfect huckleberry. Awesome.

And here we are, at the beginning of new school year. We’re about to embark on ten months of learning together. I think we should be on the lookout for awesome. I am convinced it’s everywhere if we just notice it.

Let’s pay attention to those simple, universal little joys–those awesome moments– every single day.

Kid President  gives us a pep talk in the video below, reminding us that we are  all teachers and students. In his silly way, he invites us to think about what we’re teaching the world– and to be more awesome, because“life is school and you gotta show up”.

 

What do you think of his message? What do you teach the world? What are you learning from the teachers in your life? And what awesomes have you noticed since school started? Please teach us!


25 comments »

  1. Mrs. Spiegelman says:

    You can view the original comments on our old class blog by copying the link below and pasting it in a new browser window.

    For 6th Grade:
    http://tinyurl.com/nx7hsru

    For 7th Grade:
    http://tinyurl.com/mgcd4q7

  2. PK DeVan says:

    I am new to this school and I really love it. I am taught kindness from the teachers but also the students and they treat each other like they are a big family,(which we really are a big family) and that is awesome! I would teach the world about God and the story of Jesus so that they all can be saved through The Lord!

  3. Clarissa Flores says:

    What do you think of his message?
    I think it was inspiring and funny. It motivated me to work harder.
    What do you teach the world?
    To be nice, pick up after yourself, and to be yourself.
    What are you learning from the teachers in your life?
    To work hard and you will achieve and to believe in yourself.
    And what awesomes have you noticed since school started?
    I have met all the awesome new people in our class, I noticed that its awesome to get A’s and to do your work.

  4. MacKenzie says:

    I love Kid Presidents funny way of teaching kids to stay in school. It inspires me.

  5. Matthew says:

    I liked his message it was very inspiring. I can teach the world to be a more peaceful and accepting place.
    I have been taught by my teachers to love myself and develop the talents that I have. One of the things that I think is awesome is that our class is like one big family, the teachers are very inspiring and very kind.

  6. Griffin J. says:

    It is pretty funny but still it taught me about how life is and it’s true. And it was really hard for me to understand it because it was so funny. It truly taught me something even though I had to read it and watch the video a second time. And I also think awesome is loosing its power.

  7. Christian says:

    Hmm… I think his message was FUNNY!!! I think I teach the world of being nice. ALL of my teachers are teaching me on how to be polite, show me what I did wrong, and teach me about math and stuff like that. The awesomes that I saw was that I saw my friends again. That’s it! Wait, one more thing, Kid President is AWESOME!!!

  8. Jason says:

    I think his message is good and it teaches us all to be better people. I teach the world to read more because reading is very fun to do and is good for you. I am being taught math, science, music, english, religion, art, social studies, and spanish and to not be afraid of life and its many fears. I have noticed people helping other people around school and I have also seen people share their own food with someone that does not have their own food to eat.

  9. Kaiab says:

    I think this teaches people to be more awesome. I think it was funny. I think it showed how life is. I think it teaches you to be who you are. I think that the teachers at this school are so amazing. I love all of them. I feel like they really care if you succeed.
    What do you think?

  10. jackk7 says:

    I think he had a inspiring message. I think everyone can learn from each other. I teach the world to have patience and paying close attention to simple things. Things I’ve learned from my teachers are literature, mathematics, science, history, art, spanish,music, and health.
    I’ve also learned how to respect people, have manners, also table manners, dress properly, how to take responsibility as in brushing my teeth, doing my own laundry. I’ve also learned how to take care of my self.i liked the idea of mass on Wednesdays and how we have iPads. I also like how we have school dances.

  11. justinj7 says:

    What I think of his message is to be apart of history you need to know about history.What I also think about his message is it tells that you can achieve great things if you try your best.The thing I teach the world is if you are polite to people they will be polite to you.The thing I am learning from the teachers in my life is learning more about computers and ways to live life.The awesomes I have noticed since school started is when I made a cool shot in basketball yesterday during lunch.

  12. kelseye7 says:

    What do you think of his message? What do you teach the world? What are you learning from the teachers in your life? And what awesomes have you noticed since school started? Please teach us!

    I liked he’s message it was funny and motivating

    Well I don’t really teach, but I help my friends with cheer, homework and ECt.

    Math, English , lit. Sci, art, s.s. ect.

    Well I’ve seen happiness. I’ve seen friendship. Ice seen a lot of awesome and cool things.

  13. jessicam7 says:

    I think his message was up lifting. I teach the world how to ignore the bad things in life if they only bring more harm and no good things. I noticed that people are spreading positiveness everywhere in the school.

  14. nataliem7 says:

    The kid had a really inspiring message because he talks about not giving up and thinking bigger. I teach the world to be really kind and to have fun whenever you can because you aren’t going to be a kid forever. I am learning many wonderful things from my teachers like to be a better person and etc. I think that awesomeness happened when the whole school got to have iPads so we can all learn together.

  15. jacobr7 says:

    I think he had a very good message from such a little guy. It was very inspirational. I teach the world to be active and play a lot of sports. I’m learning to be a hard worker and to turn things in on time. All of my teachers teach me that. Since school started, I noticed a lot of people people nice to all the new kids. The new teachers are really awesome too.

  16. jasong7 says:

    What do you think of his message? What do you teach the world? What are you learning from the teachers in your life? And what awesomes have you noticed since school started?

    His message is to be cool about school. And I teach the world how to play games.I’m learning from my teacher is knowable=power god=good 1+1=2. The most awesome thing I noticed is the IPad aaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwww yyyyyeeeeeaaaaa!

  17. hankf7 says:

    I thought this message was inspiring and hilarious! I want to teach the world to be kind and unselfish. I am learning to try my best in class and that you can do anything if you put your kind to it. I noticed that all of our new students are awesome and that we are having a fun year so far.

  18. giselleu7 says:

    What do you think of his message?
    I think it’s funny, cute, and inspiring. The reason it’s inspiring because the motivates me to work harder.
    What do you teach the world?
    To help out the environment so we can live longer and help those in need.
    What are you learning from the teachers in your life?
    I’m learning to respect my family and friends and being good and having a good education.
    And what awesomes have you noticed since school started?
    Awesomes since school started was that we got different teachers and new students and better learning educations.

  19. Jonathan Gatus says:

    I thought that this video was inspiring. He is telling everyone that even if you are little, young or different from other people, everyone learns from someone, and someone is always learning from you. It doesn’t matter if they are older or younger than you, there’s someone that is looking up to you. Sometimes you may even not know it, too.

  20. presleys7 says:

    I thought this video was inspiring. I was really funny how he says everyone is awesome and everyone is no matter what you are or look like you are here in this world in Gods hand and that makes you who you are. Everyone is awesome because everyone is different and we love people who they truly are they are loving and kind and all the other kind words.

  21. joeyk7 says:

    This video was very inspiring and also pretty funny. Knowing that we all need you and you need others makes it easier to learn.
    (For me of coarse)

  22. jacobr7 says:

    I thought it was a powerful message. It was a really inspirational video. I teach the world to play a lot of sports and to be active. I’m learning from my teachers to be a hard worker and to learn as much as I can. I’ve noticed that a lot of kids are being really nice to all the new kids.

  23. Citlaly Q says:

    I think his message is inspiring and motivating. I teach the world to be kind and humble, to be unique, to be confident, and to be motivators. The teachers here at OLG a truly awesome. They teach me to be kind, have respect for yourself and others and to go make a difference in the world. I’ve noticed that in general Our Lady of Grace is awesome. All of it students, teachers, staff, and parents are awesome.

  24. christophero6 says:

    This kid was funny I was rolling on the floor laughing! He just made me want to stay in school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to Spiegelman Scholars!

We are glad you are here! On this blog, you will find information regarding classroom happenings, projects, and student writing. It is my hope that you find this blog informative and easy to navigate. Click on the navigation to find the latest news for your class.

Proud Participants

2014 Student Blogging Challenge

Subscribe by Email

Spiegelman Scholars QRCode

Spiegelman Scholars QRCode

Scan this code using a QR Reader to be taken to a mobile friendly version of this blog.

Search for:

Categories

I’m reading…

Skip to toolbar